Schoharie County NYGenWeb Site

People of Schoharie County, NY

Methodist Episcopal Church Bishops 

MEC Bishops

This photo is of an engraving done by A.H. Ritchie in 1873 titled “Bishops of the Methodist Episcopal Church”.

The order of Seniority is:
1) Thomas A Morris
2) Edmund S Janis
3) Levi Scott
4) Matthew Simpson
5) Edward R Ames
6) Thomas Bowman
7) William L Harris
8) Randolph S Foster
9) Isaac W Wiley
10) Stephen A Merrill
11) Edward G Andrews
12) Gilbert Haven
13) Jesse T Peck

Identification for photo: Two at top, start at left and go clockwise. Numbers reflect names above:
1; 2; 3; 6; 12; 13; 11; 7; 5.
Inner circle, top and clockwise:
4; 9; 10; 8.

Submitted by Peter Ann Stenberg

A Note to Researchers using this Web-site: As you use this site, please keep in mind the difference between primary and secondary sources and the importance of building a preponderance of evidence. Accept nothing without further checking. It is our hope that through this collection of data from many sources, you will find a piece of the puzzle that you are working on and that may lead you to further discoveries.

Links to external web sites are being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or approval of any of the products, services or opinions contained in any external web site.

Welcome Page of the Schoharie County NYGenWeb Site
This page established February 9, 2022